Moving octopus and the best cheese tart ever

As many may know I can be an adventurous eater! I give thanks to my mother who started my siblings and I on diverse foods at a very early age. Instead of just lunchables, cookies and chips she had us also trying dried shrimp, toasted seaweed, raw sushi and so much more. That early exposure has created a palate that allows me to travel the world and have an open mind to try cultural foods. 

I truly believe that being open to cultural styles of food are an important piece to building relationships. I hear many business people talk about closing deals over dinner. I have even participated in those career development sessions on how to have dinner with your boss. Yet, I have never seen how to eat cultural foods you’re not use to foods events. As an individual you are on your lonesome to experience your relationship with cultural foods.

Living in Manhattan, Kansas I don’t have many opportunities to explore so I make sure to sharpen my skills when I travel.

Here are some of the foods we at today:

We stopped by  A local market and picked up a ginseng drink.

We ventured to Gwangalli Beach to go to Millak-dong Hoe street which is where approximately 300 restaurants serve hoe (raw fish).

We selected some fresh seafood and took it up stairs to one of the restaurants to prep it. What a sea to table experience.

Trying to sit in the traditional dining setting, Ked and I had a food adventure.

But first shoes 😂😂😂

Ked in these too small shoes

We tried the famous Korean San-nakji,  a hoe dish (raw fish dish) of octopus that still is moving after it is cut up.

Ked trying San-nakji

It was very chewy…..like really really chewy and it didn’t taste like anything but the sauce you put it in.

We had some other fish that I don’t know what to call them but here is what we bought and here is what it looked like after it was prepared.

Our next food adventure were these freakin delicious cheese tarts that are all the rage. I heard on the weekend the line is wrapped around the corner  and people can only get one box per person at a time. All I can say is, YES,  it’s the best cheese tart ever! It’s like a mini cheesecake with a cookie like crust. Dangerous for the wasteline…..but who cares…2 boxes please!

Tonight we tried Soju, a South Korean liquor made from rice…….stroooooonggggg and will put you straight on your bum.

We capped off our foodie tour with another trip to Sulbing and tried another one of their desserts. This was not as good as the first but still yummy.

Tomorrow is our last full day and evening before we head back to the states.  We will go on a tour of Busan and experience more of the culture.

Until next time

2 thoughts on “Moving octopus and the best cheese tart ever

Leave a Reply

